Kitty kat

The Kitty Kat eye

The Kitty Kat eye

I read in every beauty magazine, books and shows that talk about the sexy appeal of a smokin cat eye. It’s all fine and dandy if you know how to do it, but I’d say a solid 75% of us women don’t know how. I happen to fall into that percentile. But today I was feeling ambitious, and figured, why the hell not. I got all Carrie Bradshaw on that eyeliner and was determined to figure it out.

Now in the three pictures above you can tell that I opted for a smaller cat eye- everyone is different and some look better with thinner longer lines, and others look better with thicker shorter ones. As long as you don’t like Amy Winehouse (RIP) when your going for an office or day look, I’d say your fine.

Your very first ultimate step is to use a primer! Ill say it once and ill say it again, Primer, Primer, Primer!!! Your makeup will hold ten times longer if you do this! I use a primer from Smashbox that I am in love with. It’s a little more pricey but it lasts you forever.

The true key to putting the eye liner is to do it first with a pencil, I use Jordana’s Easyliner Retractable pencil in Night Black. It’s $1.99 at Walgreens, go knock yourself out. I use that to create a guide for myself, to help me when my tired eyes can’t function at 6am. Then i use Revlon’s liquid eyeliner, again, a Walgreens favorite. They even have ones with a slight shimmer that I use when I am feelin jazzy. When you get to the tip of the eye lid you really need to focus on bringing your brush up. Not straight out. Although I have seen women pull off the thin straight one and look rockin while doin it, however I opt for a slant. It makes the lines around your eye seem softer and not so harsh. Once I’m done applying it I take my brush that I use for my eye color and I take a dab of my light shimmer (the Body Shop’s Soft iridescent gold) and line underneath the cat eye and almost outline it. To make it more defined and give it some dimension.

I’m sure you have heard of hundreds of techniques but I know this one works perfect for me. Try it out and let me know what you think!!!

2 thoughts on “Kitty kat

Leave a Reply

