This is what makes us girls…

This is what makes us girls
We all look for heaven and we put our love first
Somethin’ that we’d die for, it’s our curse
Don’t cry about it, don’t cry about it
This is what makes us girls
We don’t stick together ’cause we put our love first
Don’t cry about him, don’t cry about him
It’s all gonna happen

If you have not heard this song by Lana Del Rey you need to listen to it, the entire album actually. The track is called “This is what makes us girls” on her awesome bluesy album titled “Born to Die”. If you like music with emotion and passion, someone who sings for a purpose, then you will love her. She mainly writes about love, men, partying, and sex- however, it’s sung in such a way that it sounds nothing like Taylor Swifts nagging boy problems, or Amy Winehouse’s drug problems, it’s much more than you think. She is one of my favorite artists and I love the way her voice sounds, not to mention her edgy old Hollywood style. I pulled that lyric chunk out because it is entirely true- as much as we do not want to admit it, we always put the guys first. We can’t help it, it’s our nature. I know I have done it before, do I regret it? Yes. Would I go back and change it? No….and that’s mainly because saying yes to the guys always taught me a lesson I had to learn on my own. Your girlfriends can always teach you something but rejection, a scorned love, or the hardest lesson learned- being dumped; will change your mindset and make you stronger and smarter for what’s next in line. I relate to this so much because I used to and still put my boyfriends first, but that’s because at the end of the day, I’m kissing him goodnight, I’m rubbing his back, I’m telling him my secrets, and asking him questions, telling him what I want to do next; he is my rock. Your girls should always be there for you, through thick and thin, and your man is there for you all the time. I know my man is, so appreciative and encouraging. That’s what makes us girls.

Like I said all of her music on this album relates to the same topics but each brought to you so differently. She talks about her cocaine addict father’s sexual attraction to her, her Hollywood boyfriend, her plump red lips with lush white swim suit….all so different yet entirely related. The rich sounds and vintage tempos make it easy to sing and get lost in her words. A huge music sensation, glamorous and dark, she possesses it all. I could go on and on about her, so tune in and listen to her music, you won’t regret it.

20130318-194810.jpg

20130318-194820.jpg

Leave a Reply

