To Crop, or not to crop top?

It’s becoming this seasons hottest silhouette, the crop top! Are you bold enough to sport it? I am a big fan of crop tops, I have them in tank tops, tee shirts, strapless, and long sleeve. In my opinion, they go great with high waisted maxi skirts, high waisted pants and even to pair on your way to the beach with some cut offs. That’s always the biggest question I get is “what do I wear it with?” It depends where you are going. I wore one last weekend out with some friends, I paired mine casually, because it was a laid back kind of night. I had on a white, lace crop tank top, and wore it with ultra high waisted black soft pants. Not only was I unbelievably comfortable, but I felt chic all night! You know I always say, if your wearing confidence, you will be chic all night long!

I love wearing a cropped tank with high waisted denim cut offs. So boho! I love it. There are so many looks you can accomplish with these trendy little tops. Be logical about your crop top and how cropped it really is. If you are not comfortable bearing it all- then opt for a longer crop top that hits under the naval. If your bold and want to show off some skin, I go for a crop top that sits right above the belly button by about 1/2 an inch. Or sport a bralette, it covers enough but ladies, wear a bra with it! Just because its called a ‘bralette’ doesn’t mean it functions as, um, a bra! Another great way to wear one that covers you up if your hesitant about wearing a cropped top, is to wear it with a high waisted pant, and a light weight cardigan, wrap sweater, blazer, or a chambray button down. That way you won’t feel ultra exposed from the front to the back because your back side will be shielded! Like I said, a maxi skirt is the most comfortable- it doesn’t pinch off your sides and make you feel like your spilling out, and it looks so easy going, makes it seem like you barely tried.

I pulled some images of some super cute crop tops and their pairings. There are so many inspirations out there, use Pinterest as your Idea starter! Explore your options and don’t pay too much- these are half of a shirt so they won’t break the bank. A great place to shop for these tops, that gives you enough money to maybe buy multiple tops or even a bottom, are places like Charlotte Russe, Kohls, Nasty Gal and American Eagle. You can pick from bohemian lace tops to mod color blocked ones. There are endless possibilities!

If your trying out a crop top for the first time, try a black one and pair it simply. Let your top and necklace make the statement. But again, confidence is key! If you pick something that you love, but it makes you uncomfortable, it will feel uncomfortable and the hesitance will be written all over your face. So be true to your self, and your size and pick something that you will rock like there is no tomorrow, sister!

Enjoy my top picks and let me know what style works for you!
Xoxox

20130614-131320.jpg

20130614-131345.jpg

20130614-131409.jpg

20130614-131443.jpg

20130614-131505.jpg

20130614-131530.jpg

Leave a Reply

