My Life As a Shopaholic: The View Inside

Growing up is hard to do- especially when you have a shopping addiction like me! I’ve been like this for years, I’ve made a lot of money in my life and I have an entire room devoted to my clothing. It’s that important to me. People like me who have not a love- but an obsession with fashion have to work extra hard to maintain their trend ready wardrobe, and still try to have a life; without having to live off ramen noodles and Doritos. Having an entire second room, fully loaded with two closets, a giant dresser, one rolling rack, a purse tree, scarf tree, one accessory vanity and a wall full of necklaces is my happy place. I wouldn’t expect everyone to understand that but there is something entirely satisfying about walking in there every morning knowing the possibilities are endless. I love knowing I have fresh and up to date pieces that I can work in with my classics. Not to mention when I hear “I want to shop your wardrobe” on the daily, is extremely flattering to hear.

For years I’ve been trying to cut back on my spending but the truth is, I will be strong for two, maybe three weeks. And all it takes is one trip to Target for “necessities” and I walk out with two dresses, a pair of shoes, and a tank in addition to my original list! It’s unfair! Target must have something in the air that just screams ‘Buy me! Buy me!’ Or a quick breeze into the mall for my makeup and I walk out of Aldo with a 70 dollar handbag that of course I didn’t need. So, with that being said, I am trying to strive towards the better and focus on paying things off, rather than adding to my already beautiful wardrobe. That is why I have to break up with my need for impulse buying and weekly shopping trips!

My first step, which I would recommend is to cut up those credit cards ladies! We have all seen confessions of a shopaholic- don’t freeze them, cut them and bury them far, far away! I actually cut up one of my cards two weeks ago and you have no idea how liberating it was! I felt like a brand new woman, certified on making strides! The tip of my iceberg was when not one, but two co-workers and my mom both handed me the article in that weeks paper titled “how to curve impulse buying”….at that point I knew it was time!! You would actually be interested to know that buying a purchase releases endorphins into your brain that make the thrill of the sale that much better. Next time I’ll just eat some chocolate and save my money!

My second step towards curving my impulse buying is working on fighting that initial urge. When I’m at the store or in the mall, if I find something that I just have to have (which was 90% of my wardrobe) I put it back on the rack and I sit and think about it for three days. If my desire is still there and I’m feeling just as in love with it as I was before, I will go back. If it isn’t there when I go back, then it wasn’t meant to be.

My third rule is when and if I am making a purchase, really sitting there and thinking about my student loans, and drive to be debt free. The thought alone makes me put my wallet away and refrain. I am only in debt with student loans but I do not want to pay that back for the rest of my life! So instead of spending the money, I put it toward my loans. Wa-La! Try to think of a goal or something you are saving up for, a wedding, new car, a home, whatever! Let that be your motivation and speak to you when your ready to blow 100 bucks on something you will forget about in two weeks.

Now trust me when I say this is easier said than done, but if you stick towards these goals you will be surprised as to how far you’ve come! I have been taking my advice and have done really well so far. Lets hope I can continue on…! Below are some pictures that always get me- the justification of shopping. I love the way we women think! Plus who doesn’t love Serena and Carrie Bradshaw!

Until next time,

xoxo,K

20130725-201941.jpg

20130725-202021.jpg

20130725-202030.jpg

20130725-202042.jpg

20130725-202054.jpg

20130725-202101.jpg

2 thoughts on “My Life As a Shopaholic: The View Inside

  1. You really sound like the narrator of Confessions of a Shopaholic except more well knowledged. I actually really like this post. Unfortunately, I can’t afford to be a shopaholic (although I wish…), but it’s a personal dream of mine to have a bomb closet. I think you gave really good tips and I think the pictures you incorporated were really humorous. Your writing style is very entertaining to read. Also, if you don’t mind, I’d love it if you’d take a peek at my blog!

Leave a Reply

