Top Looks of 2013

As we wave farewell to 2013, I like to take time to reflect on the year.  Reflect on the top stories, best moments and top looks. I was inspired by InStyle magazine to do my “top looks” of 2013.  I think this is a fun thing for everyone to do, because it gives you a chance to go back into those outfit archives and get inspired all over again.

After narrowing it down to my favorite looks, both casual and dressy- I realized how biased I was towards warm weather outfits!  I think that means I should live somewhere warm all year round….(hint hint, Michael).   Regardless, it was hard to pick, but read on to see my favorite looks of last year.

This outfit was one of my favorites- I remember I just bought the skirt and I was dying to wear it. However, it was January.  Needless to say I paired it with a long sleeve cotton tee, floral scarf, and some brown boots to make it transitional.

20140103-141504.jpg20140103-141531.jpg

I was experimenting here- found these amazing high-waisted palazzo pants from Target and drooled instantly. Paired with a chiffon sleeveless black blouse and gold accessories.

20140103-141753.jpg

This is such a versatile skirt.  I wear it all year round, with tights, without, with sneakers, flats, boots and sandals.  But I loved this one in particular because of the print mixing I was doing.  Stripes and print  make for a fantastic ensemble. Add in pops of turquoise and the outfit transforms.

20140103-141813.jpg

This dress I found at Target over the summer time, right before a summer wedding.  This style was the reason I fell in love with the Hi-Low trend.  I had never been a huge fan before, but once I tried this on, It changed my mind. Not to mention how flattering the silhouette was, it really complimented my shape.

20140103-141845.jpg

The Kimono that I got from Nasty Gal was one of my most anticipated online purchases!  I couldn’t wait to get it.  I love the Kimono trend and I still do.  It’s the perfect bohemian layering piece and is so comfortable.  This tropical print one paired great with everything, and even better with my swim suit in the summer time.

20140103-141904.jpg

A great summer look.  Casual date night with my love.  Getting to be comfy and let my hair down! Figuratively speaking because it is in a bun in this picture.  This zip tank is about 5 years old, and I will never get rid of it!  Paired with my coral lace trim shorts and some sandals- it becomes your everyday summer heat outfit.

20140103-141948.jpg

Another great outfit from this summer- these shorts were an online exclusive from Kohl’s and I am glad I bought them!  The little pom-pom detail on the edges are my favorite.  And who doesn’s love the print? You can’t go wrong.  Paired with a flowy breathable cream blouse and bohemian jewelry.

20140103-142037.jpg

I told you I loved Kimono’s….this is a short style kimono from Lauren Conrad at Kohl’s that I bought several years ago.  I wanted to mix it up so I put on one of my favorite graphic tee’s and my new sixties inspired shades.

20140103-142116.jpg

Before I say anything about this gorgeous effortless dress, I will say this was a crowd favorite.  This was a steal I found at Kohl’s.  It screamed my name.  The creamy tan color, and the white embroidering. To.Die.For.

20140103-142137.jpg

Ignoring the massive sun burn I had- this is what I wore to my beau’s birthday.  This ZARA skort was the sensation of the summer and I am SO glad I bought it in two colors.  Party in the front, realistic in the back!  Paired with graphic tank and effortless accessories.

20140103-142159.jpg

The dress I wore to Tom Petty over the summer.  I wore it for so many occasions.  Talk about versatility. Thanks Target….not to mention I had mastered the art of the “top knot” bun and sported it all summer long.  (See post on “Top Knots”).

20140103-142246.jpg

I liked this casual Friday outfit because I truly tossed it on without much thought.  Something about messy hair, flannels and wedge sneakers that make you feel extra chic.

20140103-142305.jpg

One of my Pinterest’s most liked outfits.  After I posted this on Pinterest I got over 400 re-pins and likes.  The layers of warm colors mixed with the olives and navy’s meshed really well.  Boots from DSW featuring cutouts and three buckles. Love!

20140103-142336.jpg

The Fall transitioning outfit.  Still slightly warm, yet cool enough for a sweater and boots.  Mixed some colors and played with prints.  Mustard + emerald-green + cognac brown= Success!

20140103-142409.jpg

Reasons why I love this outfit: Cropped graphic tee, boyfriend denim, booties and my favorite maxi cardigan.  Need I say more?

20140103-142436.jpg

New faux leather trimmed pants made me so excited.  I love fall because of Faux leather opportunities.  Paired with my  textured tweed moto jacket from Target and grey easy tee.

20140103-142507.jpg

Again, Faux leather.  These leggings I got from Express over the fall season. I hunted for months and found the perfect pair.  Faux leather in front, jegging in back. Paired with over sized pullover and mixed metal jewelry.

20140103-142520.jpg

I Love Gold! This blazer I think is a necessity for all women! This gold, velvet, cropped sleeve blazer was found on sale last year from The Limited.  Put it with my tan and gold-embroidered tank and my multi layered gold necklaces. Such a warm ambiance of color.

20140103-142547.jpg

One of my favorite looks because this blouse was something I had forgotten about!  The material and sequence of the polka dots made me love it.  Gold button details and a vneck collar line made it easy to pair and easy to wear.

20140103-142608.jpg

Who doesn’t love a good textured sweater!  Another staple every woman should own.  This was from Kohl’s last year, paired with black ponte pants.  It was a rich brownish black with gold threading and two cutouts in the front.  Bought it a size larger so it epitomized the “baggy boyfriend” look.

20140103-142628.jpg

My last favorite look of this past year was worn on Christmas Eve.  Another top from Kohl’s (you guessed it!).  The periwinkle color was so refreshing and had the best crochet embroidering on the side.  Again, I bought it oversized so that it was baggy and comfy to wear.  Paired with black pants and charcoal studded riding boots.

20140103-142733.jpg

After looking back I am re-inspired again!  What were your top looks from  2013? What trends will you leave behind and what will come with you into the new year?

Until next time loves,

xoxo

K

Leave a Reply

