Nailing The Interview: What To Wear

We have all been there- the ever so intimidating interviews.  Let’s be real- making a first impression is all about how they see you, and if they like what they see.  You want to bring your ‘A’ game and show them not only can you look and dress the part, but that you ARE the part.  I had my very grueling set of interviews last week and this is what I wore!

I kept it black and simple.  All chic.  I had tossed the idea around of different colored blazers because I wanted to ‘stand’ out from the crowd.  But when I kept changing back and forth, and tossing this color over that; I realized black was the way to go.  It’s slimming, it’s timeless, it’s appropriate.

For the interview event dinner the night prior, I wore the blue blazer and printed tank option because it was business casual. I paired it with booties to lighten the look up.

For the actual interviews I wore my black suit jacket from The Limited.  It’s something that every woman should own.  The go-to, beautifully cut, black blazer and The Limited is full of them.  I found my high-waisted slacks from H&M (for a great price) and my cream crochet top was also from, The Limited.  I am normally a flats or a wedge type of person, and I found an amazing pair of pointed toe flats from Sam & Libby.  I kept my jewelry and accessories minimal, and added a long necklace to break it up.  I was so comfortable in this outfit, I felt like myself, and I was confident.

Isn’t that what interviewing is all about?  Being yourself, and rocking every second of it! Check out the images below that inspired my look.

And in case you are wondering, I got the Job 🙂

20140318-185748.jpg

Pale Blue Blazer, similar one here and Polka Dot Tank (left), The Limited.
Black Suit Jacket, and Crochet Cream Top (right), The Limited.
High Rise Slacks, H&M
Pointed Toe Flats, Sam & Libby
Geo Necklace, similar item here.

20140318-202152.jpg

Until next time sweet world!

xoxo,

K

Leave a Reply

